Muriel Spark RIP

April 15, 2006 at 9:26 pm Leave a comment

I was listening to the radio this afternoon, while taking one last thorough browse round my favourite, but soon-to-be-closed, bargain bookstore when I heard on the news that Dame Muriel Spark had passed away. I moaned quietly. Well, I hope I was quiet. I knew she was getting on a bit (she was 88) but it’s still sad to hear that one of my favourite living authors is no more.

Disappointingly, Muriel Spark (born Muriel Sarah Camberg) was only shortlisted for the Booker Prize twice: in its first year – 1969 – for The Public Image, and again in 1981 (an exceptionally strong year) for Loitering With Intent.

Her succinct prose and sharp wit deserved wider recognition.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hermione joined by Aunt Petunia So who takes on the dog?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


PJE

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

wordpress visitor counter

