2007 Man Booker Prize Longlist

August 8, 2007 at 11:38 pm Leave a comment

The longlist this year is a Booker’s Dozen:

Nicola Barker – Darkmans
Edward Docx – Self Help
Tan Twan Eng – The Gift Of Rain
Anne Enright – The Gathering
Mohsin Hamid – The Reluctant Fundamentalist
Peter Ho Davies – The Welsh Girl
Lloyd Jones – Mister Pip
Nikita Lalwani – Gifted
Ian McEwan – On Chesil Beach
Catherine O’Flynn – What Was Lost
Michael Redhill – Consolation
Indra Sinha – Animal’s People
AN Wilson – Winnie & Wolf

No Gerard Woodward then. Hmmmm.

I would imagine Chatto and Windus must be disappointed – assuming they entered it for the prize, of course. They wouldn’t have pinned their hopes on Blake Morrison and Rose Tremain instead, would they?
As always the bookies latched onto the most famous writer in the list (Ian McEwan, as usual) and installed him as the favourite. Remember: the bookies are always wrong. William Hill initially made Mister Pip the 20/1 outsider – I’m guessing those odds will shorten a bit by the time the winner is announced on October 16th.
The shortlist will be revealed on September 6th.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pass me a bottle Mr. Jones – you're gonna be a big star 2007 Man Booker Prize Shortlist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

RSS Book2Book News

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
wordpress visitor counter

%d bloggers like this: